10 May 2012

Let's Go Safari release single Oh, Jane Doe

Let's Go Safari

Let's Go Safari release single Oh, Jane Doe

Let’s Go Safari is an electro-infused indie pop quartet from Poole, UK, borne from mutual postcode-sharing and a desire to delete every note their previous musical experiment ever played.

Recently signed to Red Dragon Records, their first single release (Oh, Jane Doe) was released on 9th May as a digital download (iTunes, Amazon, eMusic etc.)

In 2005 Ryan and Clive formed a band called TV Waiters, played one gig, and called it a day based on the fact that TV Waiters was a rubbish band name. As the current incarnation of Let's Go Safari they started writing together in August 2010. In the 2 years that followed they have written dozens of songs and new members James and Oli were recruited in 2012 through sordid personal ads in the local rag.

The duo started out as a pop-punk outfit before adding more synths and then aligning themselves towards their influences such as The Beatles, The Velvet Underground, The Turtles, The Beach Boys, The Strokes, Pete And The Pirates, Two Door Cinema Club, The Young Knives and Born Ruffians. Let’s Go Safari are constantly critiquing their own tracks and describe themselves as ‘perfectionists’.

But music isn’t the bands only talent – Ryan fancies himself as a bit of a comedian and you can hear his improvisations quipping into songs. Clive is a compulsive retainer of information, and knows hundreds of useless facts about a range of topics. He's also a good enough bullshitter to let the world believe he actually knows a lot about said topics. James is America's biggest fan. He loves America in ways one would have thought was not humanly possible. Oli (Crisp) is descended from Harold Crisp (1827 to 1886) the inventor of the deep fried, thinly sliced potato known as the crisp. Oli however will not inherit his fortune, because of his great-great-great grandfather's gambling addiction, and Mr. Walker and Mr. Pringle's under-hand business practices (this may be a lie).

Following their well-awaited UK releases Let’s Go Safari will be confirming some summer live dates very soon.

Let’s Go Safari are:

Ryan Wood - vocals
Clive Coats guitar/programming

James Mosley – drums
Oli Crisp – bass


Article posted by

No comments:

Post a Comment