22 May 2012

MusicMafia presents....China Rats

China Rats

MusicMafia presents Leeds band China Rats

China Rats are a four piece rock 'n' roll band from Leeds, inspired by a love of punk’s riotous guitars, 50's pop and classic British guitar bands. Formed in 2011 and comprised of four friends who met while studying in Leeds, the band are already picking up early fans including Alan Raw (BBC Introducing in West Yorkshire), Huw Stevens (BBC Radio 1) and Tom Robinson (BBC 6 Music). They also, very recently, spent the week on Radio 1’s Introducing playlist, which saw day time radio plays from the likes of Fearne Cotton, Scott Mills and Greg James of their possible future single ‘N.O.M.O.N.E.Y’.

 The band’s debut EP “To Be Like I” was released on 30th April and features three tracks: “To Be Like I”, “Take No Prisoners” and “She Never”. It was written, recorded and produced by the band. “To Be Like I” is an exhilarating whirlwind of teenage angst and given true meaning by intertwining crashing guitar sound snippets of truth.

 China Rats write songs about real life encounters and experiences. Of lead track ‘To Be Like I’, singer Graeme says “its about getting your best on for a Friday or Saturday night and being convinced all the girls are into you when really they aren’t interested at all; they hardly even notice you. I’m sure everyone feels like that sometimes”. On ‘Take No Prisoners’ he says, “I suppose it’s about those trendy kids who only ever seem to 'hang out' and get wasted. It was the first song we ever wrote and the lyrics are pretty self explanatory!”

 Live, the band pack an entertaining set full of 2 and a half minute pop songs and perform them with so much energy and charisma. They recently played a great show at Live At Leeds and have just returned back from London Calling in Amsterdam after treating the crowds to two sets in the same day, the only band to have done that at the festival. You can catch them supporting 
The Crookes at The Borderline on the 29th May.

 China Rats are:

Graeme Thomson – Lead Vocals / Guitar
Luke Smith – Lead Guitar / Vocals
Jedidiah Allcock – Bass / Vocals
George Riley – Drums

Article posted by

No comments:

Post a Comment