27 March 2014

Morrissey and Marshall Announce Debut Album And So It Began

Morrissey and Marshall Debut Album And So It Began

Morrissey and Marshall Announce Debut Album And So It Began

Darren Morrissey and Greg Marshall, collectively known as Morrissey and Marshall, release their debut album ‘And So It Began’ on the 31st March 2014. Without pigeonholing itself to any one discipline, the album is a solid inflection into the worlds of Folk, Indie and Rock doused with Pop sensibilities and an abundance of the compelling signature vocal harmonies the band have become known for. However one might categorise their sound, the album is filled with impossible hooks and sweet riffs, rendering you a slave to the repeat button again and again. And again. 

Morrissey and Marshall‟s sound evokes the raw creativity of the classic sixties and seventies pop duos twinned with a modern day troubadour spirit. They count John Grant, Mike Skinner and Shane McGowan amongst their fans, who have all approached the band after seeing them perform live. The band predominantly cites the likes of the Everly Brothers, The Beatles and Simon and Garfunkel as major influences with contemporary inspiration coming from bands akin to Fleet Foxes and Arctic Monkeys. 

Recorded and produced by the legendary John Reynolds (SinĂ©ad O’ Connor, Damien Dempsey, Passenger, Seun Kuti) at his „New Air‟ studios in London, the album possesses a straightforward, perfectly layered, warm and pristine feel, showcasing and giving light to the luxurious instrumentation and vocals.

The native Dubliners met in their local scene in 2007 and immediately hit the live circuits of Ireland and the UK, clocking up hundreds of gigs, often playing up to seven nights a week. In 2012 these outliers exchanged Emerald for Smoke and moved to London, swiftly becoming known for their luminous songwriting and pitch-perfect harmonies by playing every open mic night they could find.

Securing a residency at the famous Boogaloo club in North London proved serendipitous – as when further honing their craft some discerning punters became fans, friends and collaborators. In particular The Magic Numbers invited them to write and gig together. Support invitations also came from Ocean Colour Scene and Bipolar Empire; playing for the Olympic athletes during the London Games in 2012. 

The first single from the album is "I’ve Got a Plan‟ - released 10th March 2014. They even "borrowed" Sinead O’ Connor’s twelve string guitar from the studio on the recording – which the lads are keeping schtum about... Guest bassist on the track is Jonny Owen - BAFTA winning producer and writer of the cult internet show "Svengali'. This collaborative recording process has resulted in a cracker of a single; up tempo, melodic, radio friendly and powerful! 

Catch Morrissey and Marshall live - UK and Ireland tour dates:

13 Feb Button Factory, Dublin 

14 Feb Opera house, Cork 

18 Feb Thekla, Bristol 

20 Feb Gorillas, Manchester 

21 Feb Shepherds Bush Empire, London (supporting Damien Dempsey) 

23 Feb Mandela Hall, Belfast 

No comments:

Post a Comment