20 October 2013

MOBO Awards 2013 winners list

MOBO Awards 2013 winners list

MOBO Awards 2013 winners list

Tonight saw the 18th Annual MOBO Awards take place at the newly opened SSE Hydro arena, as the hottest names in RnB, soul, gospel, hip hop, reggae and many more descended on the venue for its first televised, multi-artist event. 

The evening saw gongs handed out in 13 diverse MOBO categories featuring nominees such as Disclosure, AlunaGeorge, Rudimental, Jessie J, Jessie Ware and Wretch 32 amongst others who were all in the running for one of the coveted awards with success stories; Laura Mvula and Wiley in the lead with four nominations each.  Each winner was given an 18ct gold leaf MOBO trophy carefully redesigned for this year’s 18th anniversary celebrations.

Throughout the evening, Glasgow and BBC3 audiences were treated to exhilarating performances from Tinie Tempah who took home the Best UK Hip Hop/Grime act award and Laura Mvula who picked up two awards for Best Female in association with Tresor Paris and Best RnB/Soul Act.  While winners for Best Newcomer Award in association with HTC, Krept and Konan made no secret of their delight at taking home the gong, which will no doubt help them on their journey to further industry success. The dynamic duo has been recognised as one of the UKs most promising urban artists and has become one of a handful to be awarded a prestigious MOBO award while still unsigned. Without a doubt, the award for performance of the night went to garage collective, So Solid Crew, who closed the show with an amazing rendition of their number one hit ’21 Seconds’. The high-energy 10-piece collective’s show-stopping finale was a fitting celebratory end to MOBO18.

Councillor Gordon Matheson, Leader of Glasgow City Council and Chair of Glasgow City Marketing Bureau (GCMB), said: “As a UNESCO City of Music, Glasgow enjoys an enviable reputation as one of the world’s top music cities and we’re home to the most lively and passionate audiences for music events in the UK, which is why shows like the MOBO Awards want to come here.

This year, MOBO made history as the first music awards event and live multi-artist production to be held at our magnificent new SSE Hydro arena, which provided a stunning backdrop for the show.

Hosting the MOBO Awards is a fantastic endorsement of the city’s ability to successfully deliver major music events and demonstrates increasing recognition by event organisers that coming to Glasgow will enhance their brand on the global stage.”

MOBO Awards founder and CEO, Kanya King MBE said, “It has been an exciting road this year that has seen artists both new and established demonstrate their worth and talent. For us at MOBO, the awards are about recognising the exciting and inspiring artists out there and giving them a platform to perform on.  This year has been a great representation of the wealth of talent MOBO music has to offer.  It’s an amazing industry to work in and we love being at the forefront honouring the past and supporting the future.”

As a UNESCO city of music, Glasgow enjoys an enviable reputation as one of the world’s top music destinations.  The MOBO Awards returned to Glasgow for the third time this year as the result of a successful partnership between the MOBO Organisation, EventScotland and Glasgow City Marketing Bureau.

Full winner list and full information below:

        Best African Act – Fuse ODG
        Best Album – ‘Home’, Rudimental
        Best Female in association with Tresor Paris – Laura Mvula
        Best Gospel – Lurine Cato
        Best International Act – Kendrick Lamar 
        Best Jazz – Sons of Kemet
        Best Male – Wiley
        Best Newcomer in association with HTC – Krept & Konan
        Best Reggae Act – Sean Paul
        Best RnB/Soul Act – Laura Mvula 
        Best Song in association with PRSforMusic – ‘La La La’, Naughty Boy
        Best UK Hip Hop/Grime - Tinie Tempah
        Best Video in association with SBTV - ‘La La La’, Naughty Boy
        Be MOBO – Stephen Lawrence Trust

No comments:

Post a Comment