18 June 2014

Tuatara to release new album Underworld

Tuatara new album Underworld

Tuatara to release new album Underworld

TUATARA, the renowned instrumental supergroup featuring members of REM, Pearl Jam, Screaming Trees, and Luna, are releasing  their first album in almost 7 years. The new album, titled "Underworld", will be released on August 4th 2014, via Barrett Martin’s label, Sunyata Records.

It is an ambitious 20-song double album produced by drummer and group founder Barrett Martin (Screaming Trees, Mad Season, Walking Papers), and mixed by Jack Endino (Nirvana, Soundgarden, Screaming Trees). 

"Underworld" is an album that plays more like a modern movie soundtrack, steeped in electronic moods and urban beats, hypnotic bass and guitar, virtuosic saxophone, and shimmering percussion. The album features all five original members: Drummer Barrett Martin, REM guitarist Peter Buck, Luna bassist Justin Harwood, tenor sax legend Skerik, and Pearl Jam guitarist Mike McCready. 

Like the soundtrack for a movie that has yet to be made, this album is about a journey into the Underworld, the mythical abode of the dead, a place of departed souls and wandering spirits, where deities and demigods battle with shamans and medicine men for spiritual supremacy. It is the realm of shades, a world of shadows and echoes, and that is where our story takes place. It's also where the most interesting stuff happens....

Drew is a contributor to Google Ocean, and he uses the Tuatara song  for his short film about ocean conservancy. His film, “Save Your Planet Everyday", was recently  debuted  at the Reef Renaissance Film Festival on St. Thomas in the Virgin Islands.

To Pre Order ‘Underworld’ Track listing 
CD go to


No comments:

Post a Comment