2 July 2014

Oasis release the second in the new Oasis Chasing The Sun series

Oasis new Oasis Chasing The Sun series whats the story morning glory

Oasis release the second in the new Oasis Chasing The Sun series

The second in the new Oasis: Chasing The Sun series, (What’s The Story) Morning Glory?, will be released on 29th September on Big Brother Recordings. Demand for the legendary Manchester band remains as strong as ever: the first release in the series, Definitely Maybe, recently entered the album chart at No.5, selling almost 20,000 copies in its first week. A large proportion of sales have been on vinyl, making it one of the biggest selling records of 2014 so far. The accompanying exhibition of rare photos and memorabilia Chasing The Sun: Oasis 1993 – 1997 attracted over 40,000 visitors to a Shoreditch gallery in April.

(What’s The Story) Morning Glory? is Oasis’s biggest-selling album, with 22 million copies sold worldwide. On release in October 1995 it spent 10 weeks at No.1 and is the 5th biggest-selling album in UK chart history. The new edition has been remastered from the original tapes by Ian Cooper at London’s Metropolis Studios, supervised by the album’s producer Owen Morris. A small army of contributors, including original members of the inner circle who were involved in studio and live recordings, came together to hunt down unheard demos and live material. The team also unearthed a wealth of never-seen-before photos and vintage memorabilia which will be included in the new artwork.

(What’s The Story) Morning Glory? Chasing The Sun Edition is available on standard CD and digital download, Special Edition 3 x CD & digital download, 12” vinyl LP (with digital download bundle of all bonus CD content), & Deluxe Box Set (including LP, Special Edition CD, 7” of an exclusive demo, replication of an original 12” promo & merchandise).

In their 14-year recording career (1994 – 2008) Oasis sold over 70 million albums worldwide, had 22 consecutive UK Top 10 singles, 7 No.1 studio albums, but, more than that, they helped define a generation. The next release in the Chasing The Sun series will be Be Here Now.

(What’s The Story) Morning Glory? Chasing The Sun Edition

The follow-up to Oasis’s 1994 debut album Definitely Maybe, (What’s The Story) Morning Glory? was recorded between May and June 1995 in Rockfield Studios, Monmouthshire, with Owen Morris and Noel Gallagher producing. Released on October 2nd 1995, it sold a record-breaking (at the time) 347,000 copies in its first week, and became the band’s breakthrough album in the US, where it sold 4 million copies.

(What’s The Story) Morning Glory?  features many of Oasis’s biggest hit singles, including Don’t Look Back In Anger, Wonderwall, Some Might Say, and Roll With It, and won the Best Album at the 1996 Brit Awards, with Oasis also taking Best British Group and Best Video awards.

It was during the Morning Glory? era when Oasis played their some of their most iconic gigs, including two nights at Maine Road Stadium, the then home of Manchester City Football Club, in April 1996, and Knebworth House, where the band played to 250,000 fans over two nights in August 1996. Over 2.6 million people applied for tickets for the shows, making it the largest ever demand for concert tickets in British history.

Each brand new edition of the album includes a remastered version of the original. The Special Edition CD and Deluxe Box Set include two CDs of all the B-sides plus rare and unreleased Oasis tracks from the Morning Glory era. The deluxe box set format comes with new sleeve notes by respected rock critic Neil McCormick.

Highlights of the bonus content include:
·       Previously unheard demos of She’s Electric and Rockin’ Chair recorded at Mark Coyle’s Manchester studio
·       Demos of Some Might Say, Hey Now, and Bonehead’s Bank Holiday recorded by Mark Coyle for the first time at the band’s soundcheck, Club Quattro in Tokyo in September 1994
·       Live recordings from legendary gigs such as Knebworth House, Maine Road Stadium, Earls Court, and Bath Pavilion
·       All of the Morning Glory singles acclaimed B-sides including Talk Tonight, Acquiesce, The Masterplan, and Underneath The Sky

Oasis: (What’s The Story) Morning Glory? Chasing The Sun Edition tracklistings:

Disc 1:
1.              Hello
2.              Roll With It
3.              Wonderwall
4.              Don’t Look Back In Anger
5.              Hey Now!
6.              (untitled)
7.              Some Might Say
8.              Cast No Shadow
9.              She’s Electric
10.           Morning Glory
11.           (untitled)
12.           Champagne Supernova

Disc 2:
1.     Talk Tonight                                                      
2.     Acquiesce                  
3.     Headshrinker                                   
4.     It’s Better People                                                     
5.     Rockin’ Chair                                                                       
6.     Step Out                                                                                         
7.     Underneath The Sky                                                                       
8.     Cum On Feel The Noize                                   
9.     Round Are Way                                                      
10.  The Swamp Song                                                                                                                             
11.  The Masterplan                                                                                                                             
12.  Bonehead’s Bank Holiday                                                                                         
13.  Champagne Supernova (Brendan Lynch Mix)                 
14.  You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away                 

Disc 3
1.       Acquiesce (Live At Earls Court)                               
2.       Some Might Say (Demo)                                    
3.       Some Might Say (Live at Roskilde)                                               
4.       She’s Electric (Demo)                                                               
5.       Talk Tonight (Live At Bath Pavilion)                                                               
6.       Rockin’ Chair (Demo)                                               
7.       Hello (Live At Roskilde)                                                               
8.       Roll With It (Live At Roskilde)                                                               
9.       Morning Glory (Live At Roskilde)                               
10.    Hey Now (Demo)                                                                               
11.    Bonehead’s Bank Holiday (Demo)                                                 
12.    Round Are Way (MTV Unplugged)                                               
13.    Cast No Shadow (Live At Maine Road)                               
14.    The Masterplan (Live At Knebworth Park)  

No comments:

Post a Comment